What To Read AND Watch If You Like Witches🧙🏻‍♀️

[I am taking part in the first level of Blogoween hosted by an array of bloggers! Here is a link to the original announcement sign up Clo at bookdragons247 did, with all the host prompts and information about the event!]

This year, I’ve discovered that I have an affinity for witches.

All of my research for my end of year assessment in Creative Writing was about witches; I’ve been consuming witchy film content like it’s my job. So I thought what better time to recommend witchy things than in October?

Books and Comics I’ve Read About Witches and Seers

Coming in hot with the comics and graphic novels! Jonesy is a series about a sharp, witty girl in highschool who can make people fall in love, but never with her. Harrow County is a Southern Gothic fairytale that follows Emmy, who is connected to the monstrous creatures that live in the woods by her house. Misfit City- while more of a contemporary adventure mystery in the vein of The Goonies– does have paranormal elements as a group of girls go searching for treasure and get possessed along the way. Meanwhile, Gotham Academy [one of my favourite series of all time], as a DC title, has all manners of spell casting and witchery going on throughout the series.

Another comic! Spell on Wheels was a limited run series about a group of witches who have to travel around America recovering loads of artefacts stolen from their home. The Diviners follows loads of different characters, but ultimately starts with Evie, a girl with a very special power and an uncle who is obsessed with the occult. The Circle is about a group of witches who come into their powers and have to face up against an evil none of them know the identity of. In The Raven Boys, Blue Sargent’s family are all psychics, and she is brought into a group of boys looking for the burial site of a dead Welsh king.

Films and TV Shows About Witches and Seers

Kiki’s Delivery Service [one of the films I used for my CW research] follows Kiki, a 13 year old girl who leaves home to begin her full time training as a witch in a new city. ParaNorman follows a boy who is an outcast in his town due to his ability to see ghosts, who has to put a stop to a Witch’s curse. Howl’s Moving Castle– another Ghibli film, that I honestly prefer over the book, sorry everyone- is about a girl who is turned into an old woman by a witch, forcing her into the home of the Wizard Howl as his maid. And then there’s American Horror Story: Coven, a season in the anthology show where a group of witches face a set of trials to see who will be the new Supreme.

Practical Magic [another one I prefer over the book] is about two witch sisters, a family curse that means their true loves will always die young, and a very vengeful spirit. Stardust [wow I’m really going hard for films I prefer over the book] has very nasty witches, the physical embodiment of a star, and a man who has vowed to find this star to bring back to the woman he is courting. Once Upon A Time is about Emma, who travels to a town with her son Henry who has found her after she gave him up for adoption years before, only to find the town isn’t what it first appears to be. Finally there’s Hocus Pocus, one of my favourite films of all time, about a boy who accidentally lights a candle and brings back witches hung centuries before who want to suck out the lives of all the children in the world. Cheery!

Some Witchy Books On My Immediate TBR

  • The Graces by Laure Eve [Already started]
  • Hollow Pike by Juno Dawson
  • Chilling Adventure of Sabrina by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa [Already started]
  • Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle
  • Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray [Sequel to The Diviners]
  • Wytches Volume 1 by Scott Snyder
  • Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women & Witchcraft by an array of authors
  • Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood
  • Strange Grace by Tessa Gratton
  • Caroline’s Heart by Austin Chant
  • The Wicked Deep by Shea Ershaw
  • Summer of Salt by Katrina Leno [I’ve heard this one is actually inspired by Practical Magic!]

And that is all of my recommendations! I really hope you get some kind of recommendation from this, I love witches, so this was so fun to do.

Thank you for reading, and I hope you’re having fun so far this Halloween month!

4 thoughts on “What To Read AND Watch If You Like Witches🧙🏻‍♀️

  1. Pingback: Film [Review] Friday: The Village, Stardust, 13 Going on 30, Holes – seasonsofwords

  2. Pingback: Film Friday: Recommending Campus Films – seasonsofwords

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Small Spaces – seasonsofwords

  4. Pingback: Book Review: These Witches Don’t Burn – seasonsofwords

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s